2018 Kentucky Derby

The 2018 Kentucky Derby is taking off on Saturday, bringing horse racing and fans wearing hilarious hats to Churchill Downs in Louisville, Kentucky.

The races can be watched on several different ways, giving fans plenty of options to catch the action.Kentucky Derby Week Previews

The most conventional method would be watching it on NBC, which is airing the race starting at 2:30 p.m. ET/11:30 a.m. PT on both its local channels and streaming over the internet using the NBC Sports app (The NBC Sports app is available for iOS and Android as well as the Amazon Fire, Apple TV, Comcast X1, Chromecast, Roku, Windows 10 computers, Xbox and select Samsung devices.

At 6:46 p.m. ET Saturday, a loaded field of 20 will race from the starting gates in the 2018 Kentucky Derby. The ‘fastest two minutes in sports’ is the most wagered-on horse race of the year, and Justify, trained by Hall of Famer Bob Baffert, is the 7-2 favorite after opening at 3-1. Right behind him at 5-1 are Mendelssohn, who’s looking to become the first horse trained in Europe to win, and My Boy Jack, who originally opened at 30-1 on the morning line.

Click Here to Watch

Note that there is a long preshow for the day’s big race, which has a 6:34 p.m. ET/3:34 p.m. PT post time and an expected race start of 6:46 p.m. ET/3:46 p.m. PT. Since it could vary, it likely will be best to start watching around 6:30 p.m. ET/3:30 p.m. PT if you are only interested in the horse race.

You can also watch the stream from KentuckyDerby.com, which includes leaderboards and other information straight from the horse races.

First published May 5, 2018 at 10:26 a.m. PT.
Update 11:50 a.m. PT: Adds more race context.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *